Schedule

Introduction to Theology

Todd R. Hanneken, Ph.D.

Spring 2021

Jump to Week:

  1. Introductions (short week) January 20, 22
  2. Israelites 1 January 25, 27, 29
  3. Israelites 2 February 1, 3, 5
  4. Early Judaism and Christianity 1 February 8, 10, 12
  5. Writing and Editing (short week) February 15, 17, 19
  6. Early Judaism and Christianity 2 February 22, 24, 26
  7. Early Judaism and Christianity 3 March 1, 3, 5
  8. Midterm (short week) March 8, 10, 12
  1. Christendom 1 March 15, 17, 19
  2. Christendom 2 March 22, 24, 26
  3. Writing and Editing (short week) March 29, 31, April 2
  4. Reformation 1 April 5, 7, 9
  5. Reformation 2 April 12, 14, 16
  6. 20th Century 1 April 19, 21, 23
  7. 20th Century 2 April 26, 28, 30
  8. Exam

Jump to Unit:

  1. Introductions
  2. The Israelites
  3. Early Judaism and Christianity
  4. Christendom
  5. Reformation
  6. 20th Century

Presentations

Rubric

Notes on Rubric

List of presentations

Writing

Rubric

Notes on Rubric

Unit 1: Introductions

Week 1, January 20-22, Introductions (short week)

Wednesday, January 20, Introduction to this class

Syllabus (LINK)

Screen notes (LINK)

Friday, January 22, Introduction to the academic study of theology

Reading: Theological Questions 1.1 What is Theology and What Do Theologians Do?

Screen notes (LINK)

Unit 2: The Israelites

Week 2, January 25-29, The Israelites 1

Monday, January 25, Who are the Israelites?

Reading: Theological Questions 2.1 Who are the Israelites?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, January 27, What kind of god do we have?

Reading: Theological Questions 2.2 What kind of god do we have?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, January 29, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: The Life of the Buddha

Presentation: Pantheism

Week 3, February 1-5, The Israelites 2

Monday, February 1, Theodicy: Is God just?

Reading: Theological Questions 2.3 If there is only one God and that god is good, how does evil exist?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, February 3, Israelite Practice

Reading: Theological Questions 2.4 How should we live our lives?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, February 5, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: The Four Noble Truths

Presentation: The Eightfold Path

Unit 3: Early Judaism and Christianity

Week 4, February 8-12, Early Judaism and Christianity 1

Monday, February 8, How did the Greeks and Romans change the meaning of life?

Reading: Theological Questions 3.1 What changed with Hellenistic and Roman rule?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, February 10, Where is the world going?

Reading: Theological Questions 3.2 What does God have planned for this world?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, February 12, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Plato, Gorgias 523-527

Presentation: Reincarnation and cyclical views of time

Week 5, February 17-19, Writing and Editing 1 (short week)

Monday, February 15, Spring Refresh

Wednesday, February 17, Focus on writing and editing

Writing project 1 due

Friday, February 19, Focus on writing and editing

Week 6, February 22-26, Early Judaism and Christianity 2

Monday, February 22 Who is Jesus?

Reading: Theological Questions 3.3 Who is Jesus of Nazareth?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, February 24, Why did Jesus die?

Reading: Theological Questions 3.4 Why did Jesus die?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, February 26, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Life of Muhammed

Presentation: Homer, Odyssey Book 11

Week 7, March 1-5, Early Judaism and Christianity 3

Monday, March 1, What will Jesus do in the future?

Reading: Theological Questions 3.5 What will Jesus do in the future?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, March 3, Are we ready?

Reading: Theological Questions 3.6 How should God’s people live their daily lives?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, March 5, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Islamic Eschatology

Presentation: 5 Pillars of Islam

Presentation: Jewish Liturgical Year

Week 8, March 10-12, Midterm (short week)

Monday, March 8, Spring Refresh

Wednesday, March 10, Midterm

Friday, March 12, Learning from Mistakes Day

Writing project 2 due

Unit 4: Christendom

Week 9, March 15-19, Christendom 1

Monday, March 15, What if the Roman Empire isn’t so bad after all?

Wednesday, March 17, What is the Church?

Reading: Theological Questions 4.2 What is the Church?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, March 19, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Early Caliphates

Presentation: Mantras

Presentation: Maimonides

Week 10, March 22-26, Christendom 2

Monday, March 22, What about the Jews?

Reading: Theological Questions 4.3 What is our relationship to the Jewish scriptures and people?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, March 24, How should Christian life be practiced?

Reading: Theological Questions 4.4 How should religious life be practiced?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, March 26, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Muhammed and the Jews of Mecca and Medina

Presentation: Sufism and/or Kaballah

Presentation: The Society of Mary (Marianists)

Week 11, March 29-31, Writing and Editing 2 (short week)

Monday, March 29, Writing and Editing

Writing project 3 due

Wednesday, March 31, Writing and Editing

Friday, August 2, Good Friday

Unit 5: Reformation

Week 12, April 5-9, Reformation 1

Monday, April 5, Who were the protestant reformers?

Reading: Theological Questions 5.1 What changed with the Renaissance leading to the Reformation?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, April 7, What did they protest?

Reading: Theological Questions 5.2 Whom do you trust with big decisions?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, April 9, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Sunni and Shi'i

Presentation: Sharia and Fiqh

Presentation: Christopher Columbus and the Jews of Spain

Week 13, April 12-16, Reformation 2

Monday, April 12, Do my actions affect my salvation?

Reading: Theological Questions 5.3 What do I have to do to be saved?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, April 14, How should I live my life?

Reading: Theological Questions 5.4 The practice of the Christian faith and individual conscience

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, April 16, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

It is not clear to me if Oyster Bake will prevent us from meeting. Just in case, no presentations are scheduled.

Writing project 4 due

Unit 6: 20th Century

Week 14, April 19-23, 20th Century 1

Monday, April 19, What happened in the 20th century?

Reading: Theological Questions 6.1 The historical context of 20th century Christian theology

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, April 21, How does faith hold up to reason in the 20th century?

Reading: Theological Questions 6.2 Faith and/or reason?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Friday, April 23, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Karma, Nirvana, Moksha

Presentation: Richard Dawkins

Presentation: New Age Movement

Week 15, April 26-30, 20th Century 2

Monday, April 26, Is Christianity useful?

Reading: Theological Questions 6.3 How is Christian faith relevant to the poor and oppressed today?

Screen notes (LINK)

Tutorial

Wednesday, April 28, What can I do to make it more useful?

Friday April 30, Quiz and Presentations

Quiz

Presentation: Malcolm X and the Nation of Islam

Presentation: Jews in the Civil Rights Movement

Presentation: Abortion in Other Religions

Final Exam

Monday, May 3, Review for Final Exam

Wednesday, May 5, Study Day (no class meeting)

Final exam at day and time announced by the registrar